Aquaculture and Aquatic Sciences

The Aquaculture and Aquatic Sciences Concentration combines chemistry, biology, and ecology to understand how aquatic ecosystems function and how fisheries can be managed or grown to meet the global appetite for fish and shellfish consumption. Students may pursue a master’s or doctoral degree conducting research in this concentration.

Required Coursework

  • AEC502, Introduction to Biology Research (Fall)
  • PHI816, Research Ethics (or equivalent)

Quantitative Requirement

M.S. and Ph.D. students choose one of the following:

  • ST511 or ST512 Experimental Statistics in Biological Sciences I & II (Fall&Spring; staff)
  • Bioinformatics course, such as BIT815, or others (with permission from Advisory Committee)
  • AEC510, Machine Learning Approaches in Biology (Fall odd years; Reading)
  • ST505, Applied Nonparametric Statistics (Spring; Lu)
  • BMA567, Modeling Biological Systems (Alternate years; Gross)

Concentration Chair

Dr. Brad Taylor
bwtaylo@ncsu.edu

Restricted Electives

Choose a minimum of one course for M.S., two for Ph.D.:

  • AEC/ENT509, Ecology and Conservation of Freshwater Invertebrates (Spring odd years; Taylor)
  • AEC515, Fish Physiology (Fall even years; Reading)
  • AEC519, Freshwater Ecology (Spring even years; Taylor)
  • AEC624, Marine Fisheries Ecology (Fall, Buckel)
  • AEC592, Management of Small Impoundments (Fall even years; Kwak)
  • AEC592, Aquatic Plant Ecology (Fall; Burkholder)
  • AEC592, Advanced Biology of Fishes (Fall; Reading)
  • AEC624, Marine Fisheries Ecology (Fall, Buckel)¬†
  • AEC710, Sampling Animal Populations (Spring; Collazo)
  • AEC726, Quantitative Fisheries Management (Fall even years; Fischer)
  • BMA772, Stochastic Processes in Biology (Spring; Gross)
  • FW511, Human Dimensions of Wildlife (Spring odd years; Peterson)
  • MEA549, Principles of Biological Oceanography (Fall; Eggleston)
  • NR595, Natural Resource Policy and Management (Fall; Hess)
  • TOX715, Environmental Toxicology (Fall; Buckwalter)
  • ZO524, Comparative Endocrinology (Spring; Borski)

 

Advising Faculty:

Name Email Website
Areas of Expertise
Aday, Derek ddaday@ncsu.edu http://www.ncsu.edu/project/fish-lab/
Fisheries science
Bogan, Arthur arthur.bogan@naturalscciences.org https://naturalsciences.org/staff/arthur-bogan
Freshwater mollusks, Systematics
Boreman, John jgborema@ncsu.edu NA
Maine fisheries, Stock assessment, Fisheries management
Borski, Russell rjb@ncsu.edu http://borskilab.com/
Fish endocrinology and physiology
Buckel, Jeffrey jabuckel@ncsu.edu https://cmast.ncsu.edu/buckel/
Marine and estuarine fisheries science
Cao, Jie jcao22@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/jcao22/
Marine conservation, Fisheries stock assessment & management, Climate change
Cope, Gregory gcope@ncsu.edu https://appliedecology.cals.ncsu.edu/faculty/w-gregory-cope/
Ecotoxicology, Water quality, Mollusk conservation, Invasive species
Daniels, Harry harry_daniels@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/hdaniels/
Aquaculture of freshwater and marine fish and shrimp
Eggleston, David eggleston@ncsu.edu https://cmast.ncsu.edu/eggleston/eggleston-lab/
Marine ecology and conservation
Fischer, Jesse jrfische@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/jrfische/ Fish ecology
Heise, Ryan rjheise@ncsu.edu Fish ecology
Hightower, Joseph jhightower@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/jhncsu/
Fisheries science, Population modeling
Hinshaw, Jeffrey jhinshaw@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/jhinshaw/
Coldwater aquaculture, Fish health management, Water quality
Hopkins, Skylar skylar_hopkins@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/skylar-hopkins/ Disease ecology
Kwak, Thomas tkwak@ncsu.edu https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/tkwak/
Fish and river ecology and management, Conservation ecology, Production biology
Lynch, Abigail ajlynch@usgs.gov https://cals.ncsu.edu/applied-ecology/people/abigail-lynch/ Fish biology
Morris, James jamorri2@ncsu.edu
Aquaculture, Aquatic sciences
Ramirez, Alonso alonso.ramirez@ncsu.edu https://www.ramirezlab.net/
Tropical stream ecology, Urban ecology, Community ecology
Reading, Benjamin bjreadin@ncsu.edu https://www.facebook.com/stripedbassgenome
Aquaculture, physiology, machine learning, genomics, fishes
Shertzer, Kyle kyle.shertzer@noaa.gov NA
Stock assessment, Population ecology, Fishery management
Taylor, Bradley bwtaylo3@ncsu.edu http://www.bradwtaylor.com/
Freshwater ecosystems, Community and ecosystem ecology